The SFL’s newest program is a series called “Simsbury Free Library on Simsbury” where the SFL will bring in speakers to talk about topics of special historical interest to Simsbury residents.
The first “Simsbury Free Library on Simsbury” program will be Saturday, November 17, at 1:00 p.m. John Nagy and Frank Haviland will discuss Tariffville and its rich history: from its geographical importance, use of water power, and changing names to the coming of the railroad and the rise of tobacco cultivation and the outlook to the future. After their talk, Nagy and Haviland will lead participants on an optional walking tour of Tariffville.
The second program in the “Simsbury Free Library on Simsbury” series will be on January 12, 2013 at 1:00 p.m. Eileen Fielding, executive director of Farmington River Watershed (FRWA), who coordinated the Spoonville Dam removal project, will present “What Happened to Spoonville Dam,” highlighting the removal of the dam in the summer of 2012, how and why it was done, and by whom. It will also cover some of the dam's eventful history and discuss the effects of dam removal on the river’s many uses and functions.
Other topics being considered for the series include Heublein Tower, Simsbury Cemetery, McLean Game Refuge, Gifford Pinchot and possibly the lost village of Pilfershire.
While the events are free and open to the public, donations to the SFL are encouraged and appreciated and new members are always welcome. RSVPs are requested via email (firstname.lastname@example.org) or phone (860-408-1336).
About the Simsbury Free Library
The Simsbury Free Library (the Simsbury Genealogical and Historical Research Library) opened on the second floor of the Hopmeadow District School in 1874. In 1890, the Library’s collection was moved to its present location at 749 Hopmeadow Street in Simsbury. Today the Simsbury Free Library (SFL) seeks to promote interest in genealogy and history by providing access to research material and expertise, artifacts, and educational and cultural programs. It seeks to help patrons connect with the past and to learn from and be inspired by those who have gone before them. The SFL provides a relaxed setting in which people can pursue family research history at their own pace. For everyone from seasoned genealogy veterans to beginners, the SFL has the staff and resources necessary to help visitors develop the skills required to create family trees, search local histories, look up census records, explore vital records, etc.
The Simsbury Free Library – the Gracious Yellow Lady – is open Tuesdays and Thursdays from 11:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. and the second and fourth Saturdays of the month from 10:00 a.m.-2:00 p.m. as well as by appointment. For more information, visit www.simsburyfreelibrary.org or call (860) 408-1336.