Simsbury High School Honors Scholars

Simsbury High School seniors are being recognized for their academic excellence.

Submitted by Simsbury Public Schools

On October 18, Simsbury High School held its annual reception honoring students in the senior class for their academic excellence. The young people honored have demonstrated outstanding academic potential by the National Merit Scholarship Program.

This year’s National Merit Semifinalists are Mia Capobianco, Rafael Helfand, Margaret House, and Joshua Motley. These four seniors have earned the National Merit Semifinalist designation and the opportunity to continue in the competition and potentially qualify for Finalist distinction.

In addition, 17 seniors were honored at the reception for being named Commended Scholars: Trevor Aron, Peter Brody, Ryan Carpenter, Alexander Chernoff, Robert Franklin, Mark Gschwind, Rachel Harshaw, Andrew Keene, Peter Kim, Anna Lauchnor, Shaodi Li, Conor Lyman, Joseph Martin, Sean McAvoy, Seth Moran, Steven Steijn, and Nicholas Veltrop.  At the ceremony, these students received a Letter of Commendation from the high school and the National Merit Scholarship Corporation, which conducts the program.

SHS is also proud of Gabriela Rovalino and Logan Sweezy, who are being recognized as Hispanic Recognition Program Scholars by the National Merit organization.


More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »